Here, There, and Back Again

          Here’s what you need to know about me.  As a young girl I prowled the jungle with none other than Shere Khan himself. Our shoulders moved rhythmically back and forth as our eyes fixated on our prey ahead. I watched him as he strategically placed one foot in front of the other on the warm dirt ground, tail a-sway, and tried to do the same. I followed closely behind as we analyzed the humid jungle for the man cub. A snarl escaped our lips as the son of man chased behind us with the mandarin fire, and I stared as the cowardly cat ran away. I learned that even the biggest or meanest may not be the bravest.

          You should also know that on my 11th birthday I received my acceptance letter from Hogwarts on the very same day as Harry Potter! I learned to master the dark arts with Harry. I lost friends, and I gained new ones in unsuspecting places. I competed in the grueling tri-wizard tournament. I flicked my wand strategically and with skill as I cast curses, cures, and dueled. I defeated he-who-shall-not-be-named. I became a part of something much bigger than myself. I learned that you can’t under-estimate yourself and what you can truly accomplish because life works in magical ways. 

          You should understand that when I turned 14 I transformed into a hobbit, a short, stout creature standing at only 4 feet tall with hairy feet. I wandered with Bilbo through the treacherous mountains. I found the one ring and selfishly kept it. I made an enemy in smeagol and learned that things are not always what they seem. I fought orcs and dark lords. And in the end, I learned there’s no place like home when I traveled back to the shire.

          Why books you ask? Because I’ve been to the top of mordor with Frodo and Sam. I’ve battled the volturi along with the Cullen’s. I’ve solved mysteries with Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson.  I’ve battled dragons. I’ve been immortal and immoral with Dorian Gray. I’ve stayed in Uncle Tom’s Cabin. I’ve been to the future, and I’ve been back in time. I’ve battled alien races. I’ve been an alien race. I’ve been through the apocalypse (more than once, might I add). I’ve been in cliquey high schools and dealt with all the boy drama. I’ve found love and had my heart broken.  I’ve fought green knights and demons alike. I’ve been bullied and bashed. I’ve fought the evil titans of Greek mythology. I’ve been stranded on a boat with a tiger for days. I’ve been a lonely teenager writing in his diary mulling over the perks of being a wallflower.  I’ve been to so many places and met so many people that I can’t even begin to count. I’ve been here and there and back again, but I’m not done yet.

Whenever I need to get away, I just crack open a new book and immerse myself into a whole new world. I see words flying off the pages creating new worlds and characters in my mind and before my very eyes. Books have helped me learn. They have helped me grow. They have molded me into the person I am today. They have given me something to strive for, something to live for. I don’t know where I would be if I didn’t have my secret world. It is a world full of adventure, love, friendship, and bravery, a world that I call my own. Through books I have learned who I am. I have learned what I want to be.  So you want to know what defines me? Books.

 

 

Leave a Reply

