We All Fall Down

Not for that specific dance but a dance picture nevertheless.

There is nothing funnier than watching someone’s pants fall down during a dance performance. Nothing. Unless that person is you.

I’m sure all of you know by now that I have the tendency to do embarrassing and stupid things. I am the epitome of murphy’s law; anything that can go wrong will go wrong. So naturally me being a dancer since I was 2 had it’s occasional ups and a lot of downs. The downs include falling, tripping, going the wrong way, burning my feet, and having my pants fall down.

So if you can imagine 12 year old me doing a bollywood dance (some how I’m actually quite graceful on stage…shocker right?) and I notice that the string holding my pants up is a little too tight. So I decide to untie it and retie it a little bit looser right before I go on stage. Smart move. So I go through the first half of the dance flawlessly until I start to realize that my the tie holding my pants up is getting looser by the second. So what do I do? I go on. We do a formation change I go up to the front and my pants fall to around my knees. Luckily we were wearing indian blouses called kurtis which fall about mid-thigh.  So I pull up my pants and just continue on dancing. My mother notices the debacle and runs to the side of the stage and gestures for me to come over. I shake my head in protest while holding up my pants and eventually give in. I run off stage in the middle of the dance and my mother reties my pants and tries to push me back on stage. I was obviously reluctant to go back on considering I had just thoroughly embarrassed myself. There was no way I was going to get back on stage. Well I went back on stage with a solid 45 seconds of the performance left. I do my bows with a tomato red face and walk off stage. As a child I had a friend whose name I will not say here who looked a lot like me. Like everyone thought we were twins. I was so embarrassed that I told everybody it was her. And the sad part is people actually believed me. I guess my acting skills were top notch at age 12. I would like to apologize to she-who-shall-not-be-named for not telling you I had done this. I hope you can find it in your heart to forgive me. I guess what goes around comes back down.

(Note that the picture above is not from this dance but is obviously a bollywood dance costume and is not the kind I was wearing during this performance.)

Leave a Reply

